top of page
Search
  • carrie bell

Day #126- Low Fuel Warning


Dear Teacher Running on Empty,


Ever had that low fuel light come on while heading home from work? Could anything be more annoying, except maybe having it light up while heading to work? Come to think of it, there’s never a great time to discover you need gas, but it is especially inconvenient when you only have ten minutes to get a seven-year-old ready for a baseball game that is 20 minutes away.


Without gas, there’s no way to make it though, so you begrudgingly stop because the alternative is being stranded on the side of the road, which will only lead to bigger issues.


As I was pumping gas today I was simultaneously considering how I could also squeeze writing a teacher blog into this already jam-packed day, especially when I didn't even have a topic in mind. That's when it dawned on me that sometimes the answer we need is right in front of us.


Sadly, we often miss it.


I concluded I didn’t want to stop for gas for a host of reasons.


#1 It was inconvenient. I was tired and wanted to get home.


#2 I had somewhere I needed to be and stopping would slow down the process.


#3 It was messy. Inevitably, I always spill gas.


#4 There’s always someone hogging the pumps, and I can't ever remember which side my tank is on.


#5 I don’t like being interrogated through an automated prompt about whether I want a car wash, a sausage dog combo, or a new fuel rewards card before I can even pay for my gas and get moving again. I want gas, that’s what I want, only gas.


Teachers are running on fumes right now. Pure fumes, and many don’t want to stop or take a break for the same reasons I didn’t want to refuel today. It is inconvenient. I have too much to do. Things will get messy. Somebody else is already taking off, and it’s going to cause confusion. And lastly, I don’t want to be interrogated about my needs during my refueling time.


These are all justifiable reasons to keep going, but there comes a point where the fumes will run out. In which case, you will be no good for anyone. This message is a PSA for teachers to stop and refuel.


I promise you aren’t going to make it to the end of the year without adding a little more to the tank.


Should you choose not to heed to this warning, I promise I won't judge you when I find you stranded on the side of the road with your flashers blinking full throttle. In return, I ask you not to judge me when I am stranded too.


Let's simply agree to kindly tap on one other's window and say, “I need some gas. Do you need some too?"


-CDB


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Big Bear

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page