top of page
Search
  • carrie bell

Day #149- Good Stuff


Dear Immobile Teacher,


And now, there’s a gas shortage. This really is the school year that keeps on giving.


In case you’ve forgotten, here’s a recap.


· Delayed start

· Mask mandate

· Hurricane

· Demolished bridge

· Pay day debacle

· Election drama

· Winter storm

· Quarantines

· And now a gas shortage


Yesterday, I nearly ran out of gas trying to secure gas, and if this isn’t a metaphor for the year, I don’t know what is.


A man two cars behind me decided to defy social customs by jumping four cars ahead of me and proceeded to pump six containers full of gas. I was tempted to flick a lit cigarette his way, but I thought better of it. No need to waste a perfectly good cigarette.


Instead, I decided to wait patiently. I paid $3.50 a gallon for premium gas. That’s all they had left. What could I do except audibly remind my vehicle not to get used to the good stuff?


Speaking of good stuff, the man who I almost lit on fire was not my favorite person, but the Hispanic man across from me pumping liquid gold into his silver F-150 was. He smiled and said, “I’m not spending more than $50 bucks. At $3.50 a gallon, we’ll see how far that gets me. I ain’t stressing about it.” I have no proof, but I am willing to bet a tank of gas, this man also only had two rolls of toilet paper in his towel closet last May during the paper product crisis.


His response reminded me that there are two types of people in a crisis. Those who freak out and those who chill out.


Teachers aren’t always the best at chilling out, but maybe this year has helped us some.


After all, what choice is there when you're immobile?


-CDB

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Big Bear

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page