top of page
Search
  • carrie bell

Day #25- Five O'Clock Somewhere


Dear Identical Twin Teacher,


I've been reading your blogs and wondering how you write a new blog every single day. This one has taken me several weeks, and it still kind of stinks. In my defense, I do have one extra boy to raise than you do. Thankfully, it's really not a competition, which is a huge win for me. When we were younger, mom said she never had to teach us to share. It was probably because you were hogging all the space in the womb. I promise I'm not still bitter. A relentless love for laughing is one of the best things we share, and Lord knows teachers need a laugh this year.


In my social thinking class, I teach my students that humor is risky. Whether you are a joke teller, a joke receiver, or a joke refuser, it seems everyone is offended by something in 2020, but I am so thankful you are willing to take the risk with each new post. In the most grueling year any teacher has ever faced, you've put a little magic back, and personally, I am so grateful you are willing to slay the taunting giant of discouragement with the mighty sword of humor.


I notice in these blogs you often share a philosophical quote, and since it's Friday and five o'clock somewhere, I'll share one from my favorite poet, the great Jimmy Buffet. "If we couldn't laugh, we would all go insane." What I am trying to say is thank you for helping us stay sane.


Surely, you will edit this blog. You will make it far better than I actually wrote it, or at least, I'm hoping you will. When you do, I'm sure you will come up with a thought provoking question to ask teachers at the end, just like you always do. Maybe you will even include a funny, twin anecdote. If so, that will be neat because then it will seem like I actually wrote it, and the irony of an English teacher/Literacy Coach helping an ESE teacher plagiarize will make me giggle. But if you decide to keep my original question, I'll be asking readers this:


"Whose paper are you copying from?"


-Q


A side note: You know you are wrong for that hogging the womb comment. For pure spite, I'm a good mind to tell everyone how you once ran into a mirror thinking your reflection was me. It's really bad when you don't even recognize your own self. -CDB


107 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Big Bear

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page