top of page
Search
  • carrie bell

Day #74- The Cat's Meow


Dear Teacher with a Semester Exam,


I’ve never been a fan of semester exams. Maybe my experience is an anomaly, but exams seem counterproductive in that they bolster the grades of students who haven’t done much all semester and hurt the students who have been diligent each day.


Far too many times, I have witnessed one slip up on an exam do major damage to a 99 average. Meanwhile the girl who smuggles a cat in her jacket miraculously lands an 85 on the exam, which boosts her 60 average a whole letter grade. It seems unfair, but truly, what is fair these days?


Also, in case you were wondering, the girl with the cat in her jacket is not a humorous exaggeration. I, honest to God, had a girl hide a cat in her jacket. I kept hearing a low meowing sound and thought I was going insane. Finally, I asked a question I never thought I would, “Danesha (her real name) tell me the truth, do you have a cat in your jacket?”


With a grimace, she slowly unzipped her neon green, fleece hoodie and out popped a 10-week-old calico kitten.


I’ve missed a lot of things in the classroom. Kids are sneaky. But missing the fact that a 17 year old was harboring a live animal in her coat was truly a career-low, almost as low as giving semester exams.


As for exams, I am sure they serve a purpose. If I asked someone in a position of authority, they could probably tell me how or why, but like many teachers, I don’t ask, I simply do.


Today is the last day of exams for the semester, which I realize makes my test bank a moot point. However, a spring exam is coming, so feel free to steal from the list below if you are at a loss for what to assess. Here are a few questions you may want to add.


1) What would your post-pandemic self say to your pre-pandemic self if you could?


2) What has been the most difficult lesson you have learned in the last year?


3) How has your idea of school and learning shifted since March of last year?


4) How has COVID personally affected you or your family?


5) What is something you wish teachers could see and understand about being a young adult right now?


Should you choose to borrow from this list, I would love to hear the student responses, and while you’re collecting responses, don’t forget to add a bonus question.


Bonus question: Do you have a cat in your jacket?


-CDB

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Big Bear

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page