top of page
Search
  • carrie bell

The Mission of a Mason



The church announcements were a reminder I had dropped the ball. AGAIN. I really did intend to purchase items for the Christmas treat bags for Teen Challenge, but somehow, in the flurry of the festive season, I had forgotten to remember what actually mattered.


In an attempt to make up for my mishap, I wrote a check to Janice Mason. Surely, it was not too late for her to do the shopping.


Upon handing her the check, I did not expect her humble and gentle request for me to attend the Christmas gathering for the ladies. "Me?" I thought, "but I forgot to buy the brushes, soaps, toothbrushes, all of it."


I didn't say it, but I was thinking, "Umm..I don't think I'm a good candidate. You don't understand. I drop the ball. I'm more of a write a check, stay on the sidelines, kind of gal."


But something about JJ Mason's quiet humility told me she was anything but a stay on the sidelines kind of gal, and because she wasn't, I didn't want to be either. So, I said yes before I even knew what I was saying yes to.


Turns out JJ was too sick to make it that night, yet somehow, even in her absence, she managed to give me an extraordinary gift that had nothing to do with a new hairbrush or costume jewelry. Being surrounded by women who were fighting the same chains of sorrow in a season that twinkled with the glaring reminder that we were all deeply saddened over being separated from our dearest loved ones changed me in a way I struggle to put voice to, but JJ's transparent private facebook message to me that night echo my sentiments perfectly.


"Carrie, I would so love for you to come to our regular chapel services on the third Monday night of the month. 7: 00 pm. I am so happy you enjoyed it so much 💖. I can't wait to hear all about it. A big disappointment was that I was too sick to come. I love what we do. I call it our home mission." -JJ


I never imagined I would not get the chance to tell her about the chapel service and how her gentle prompting challenged me to get in the game of life.


Friday afternoon, I wept in my car over the news that JJ had left her home mission for her eternal one.


Anyone who knows Janice Mason knows she spent a good portion of her life quietly pivoting between two countries she greatly loved- Peru and America. In doing so, she taught us all how we can be in one place, find purpose, and even involve ourselves in a home mission, while simultaneously longing for another country.


Brick by brick, stone by stone, she constructed a legacy that outlived her life and was a Mason in the truest sense of the word.


Because of her, I want to do the same.


Thank you, JJ, for helping the ones who have dropped the ball in life get back in the game.


We are indebted to you for the countless investments you have made in the Kingdom.


With your life as the example, may we continue to carry out your Home Mission every single day.


-Carrie

280 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Big Bear

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page